top of page

FROM EAST ATLANTA TO THAILAND

Just a Young, Black, Female Abroad  🧚🏾‍♀️

Thank you for visiting my blog. First, this isn't a typical traveling blog. I'm sharing unique experiences and lessons I'm learning while teaching English in Thailand, my way. I recently graduated from Georgia State University with a degree in English. Writing is in my spirit.

 

 I believe my time in Thailand is molding me into the woman God placed me on this Earth to be. My spirit has been pressing me to share this journey through writing. So here it goes ✨

PIECES OF ME

Writing is an art. Thanks for giving my art the time of day.

Start reading below.

IMG_6973.jpg
Search
  • Writer's pictureAsha Diarra

My Crystals

Updated: Jan 3, 2019


Preparing to move across the world was no breeze. I remember making at least five different lists of things I needed to do before leaving. One for appointments I needed to make and attend. Clothes I needed to purchase. Another list for hygiene products I was sure I couldn’t live without. Also, there was a list for people I needed to spend time with before leaving.


On one list I wrote a reminder to purchase new crystals. I’ve always been spiritual, ready to experience anything supporting positivity. My history with crystals has always left my spirit satisfied. I remember the first crystal I received from my Mother when I got my first car. She told me the crystal was for protection. It came on a silver chain that till this day I keep on my car rearview mirror. I’ve never encountered any life-threatening danger in my car, but I’ve been in numerous car accidents. So it’s safe to say I believe in the power of crystals.


Weeks before moving to Thailand, I was an emotional wreck. I was looking for guidance everywhere. So I went to the crystal shop. There’s one store in Atlanta I go to for all my spiritual needs like sage, crystals, and books for enlightenment: “Crystals Blue” in Little Five Points. If you visit Little Five Points, you can find the store quickly. The storefront painted a peaceful blue all over, with the store's name painted in big blue letters.



I walked in on a sunny afternoon early August, feeling like a mixed bag of emotions. As I did on most days during this period of my life. I stood alone in front of a wall filled with crystals, reading the descriptions of them all one by one. I started to feel overwhelmed. All the crystals looked great, but my brain couldn’t process which ones aligned with what I needed.


So I stopped. I turned around and looked to the counter for assistance. The store was pretty busy. One woman was available, a curvy Black woman with creamy brown skin, wearing glasses and a beanie. I walked up to her and asked for help. I got straight to the point, “Hi! Could you help me find a few crystals? I’m moving to Thailand this month. I’m looking for crystals promoting safety, positivity, clarity and anything else you think could be helpful”... I said something like this haha.


I’m grateful to say I think she guided me to perfect crystals. Below are the crystals I purchased starting from right to left in the featured picture:




Garnet- Strength, Security

Lemon Quartz- Positive Energy, Will Power, Clarity

Pyrite- Willpower, Manifesting, Action, Creativity, Confidence

Phos Phosiderice- Connection with spirit guides, hope, stress-relief, insomnia, growth, hope. Heart Chakras.

Azurite in Granite- Insight, Vision, Intuition, Intellect

Bloodstone- Strength, Courage, Purification, Vitality

Rhodonite - Forgiveness, Love, Emotional Healing



I believe each of these crystals added something valuable to my spirit while on this journey. I needed a push of positivity every day. I needed to feel security, courage, and strength within myself. I craved clarity in every area of my life.


I bought a little purple bag to carry all of my crystals. That bag felt like it had all the energy I needed to succeed inside. And looking back, I may have been right.


I remember my first night in Thailand I was staying in a basic hotel and was trying hard to make sense of life around me. Everything was different. I was alone.


I pulled out my crystals and slept with them. I believe they brought me peace. I felt safe. Call me crazy, but I slept like a baby my first night alone across the Earth from everything I’ve known. Peace like that means something.


On my last day in Atlanta, my Mother and I shared an emotional Coffee at the Starbucks in Little Five Points. We were both crying. The memory brings tears to my eyes now. I was telling her how even though I was afraid; I had faith. “God brought me this far. I know he’ll take care of me.” I was crediting all my success to the higher powers in this world. My mom cut me off “Asha. You did this. You made this your reality” I can still hear her words.


I don’t think I ever give myself enough credit. It probably has to do with me being female and how society embeds in us that our success can only accomplished because of outside factors.


My mother's words stung for some reason. They stung with love. I think partially because I never expected to hear those words from her. My Mom raised me knowing that God is real, and we thank him for everything. But at that moment she wanted me to realize I put in the actions to make it this far. That moment meant a lot to me.


I’m sharing this to make one point: My Crystals bring me peace. My Crystals help nourish the spirits already within me. I believe just the way we must charge our crystals with Sage or sunlight, our crystals recharge our spirits.


But first, we must sort our spirits and set intentions for our crystals. This way we can better ensure our Crystals are providing the nourishment we desire. Everything we need to exceed is inside us. Crystals, sage, meditation- those are just things that help our spirits work clearer while achieving goals.


Purchasing some Crystals won't do anything for you. In my opinion, first sorting out your emotions and setting an intention for what you desire to manifest in your life is the best practice. You might not have everything figured out, or feel positive about your feelings. But doing self-work and pinpointing what you wish to improve is the first step. Crystals should help give an extra push.


Stay tuned for future blogs on how I've used my Crystals in meditation to manifest positivity. Owning Crystals is like having a plant. What you put into them, you receive back. The relationship is ongoing and full of growth.


36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

BlackGirlAbroad_

🧚🏾‍♀️

bottom of page